

NEWS RELEASE

Respond to: P.O. Box 185 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0185

(609) 292-8700

CONTACT: JEFF BRINDLE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

FOR RELEASE: May 24, 2023

Starting today, candidates vying in the June 6 general election in New Jersey must begin filing "48-hour notices" as they receive late-arriving contributions or loans, according to Jeff Brindle, Executive Director of the New Jersey Election Law Enforcement Commission (ELEC).

The disclosure rule also applies to some, but not all, campaign expenses.

The disclosure requirement begins on the 13th day prior to election and includes Election Day.

During that period, an individual candidate, or joint candidate committee, that receives a contribution or loan of more than \$1,900, is required to report that contribution or loan within 48 hours to ELEC.

"These notices provide important pre-election disclosure. They show who is receiving and spending significant sums in the critical late stages of a campaign," Brindle said. "They are available for public inspection on ELEC's website shortly after their receipt."

Contribution disclosures are filed on Form C-1 and 48-HR. These reports must contain the following information:

- 1. the name of the candidate committee or joint candidates committee receiving the contribution;
- 2. the date the contribution was received;
- 3. the amount of the contribution;
- 4. the name and mailing address of the contributor; and,
- 5. in the case of an individual, his or her occupation and the mailing address of his or her employer.

Expenditure disclosure is required only when a candidate or joint candidate committee spends money on behalf of another candidate or joint candidate committees, or a committee such as a state or county party makes an expenditure on behalf of a candidate or joint candidate committee. Candidates and joint candidate committees do not have to report money they spent directly on their own campaigns.

--more--

Expenditure information is filed on Form E-1 and 48-HR, which requires the following information:

- 1 the name of the candidates or committee making the expenditure;
- 2. the name of the person, firm, or organization to whom or which the expenditure was paid; and,
- 3. the amount and purpose of the expenditure.

The 48-HR, C-1, and E-1 forms must be filed electronically, either using the ELEC eFile system or on Commission's website at <u>www.elec.nj.gov</u>.

