

ELECTION LAW ENFORCEMENT COMMISSION

JERRY FITZGERALD ENGLISH Chair

> PETER J. TOBER Vice Chair

ALBERT BURSTEIN Commissioner

AMOS C. SAUNDERS Commissioner Respond to: P.O. Box 185 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0185

(609) 292-8700 or Toll Free Within NJ 1-888-313-ELEC (3532)

Website: http://www.elec.state.nj.us/

FREDERICK M. HERRMANN, Ph.D. Executive Director

> JEFFREY M. BRINDLE Deputy Director

CAROL L. HOEKJE Legal Director

EVELYN FORD Compliance Director

> JAMES P. WYSE Legal Counsel

PUBLIC SESSION MINUTES

April 7, 2009

Chair English, Commissioner Burstein, Commissioner Saunders, Legal Counsel Wyse, and Senior Staff were present. Vice Chair Tober was absent.

1. Open Public Meetings Statement

Chair English called the meeting to order and announced that pursuant to the "Open Public Meetings Act," <u>N.J.S.A.</u> 10:4-6 <u>et seq.</u>, adequate notice of the meeting of the Commission had been filed with the Secretary of State's Office and distributed to the entire State House Press Corps.

The meeting convened at 10:00 a.m. in Trenton.

2. Selection of 2009 Gubernatorial Primary Election Debate Sponsors

The meeting of the Commission convened for the purpose of selecting sponsors for the 2009 Gubernatorial Primary Election Debates. The applicants were:

- The League of Women Voters of New Jersey Education Fund with WPVI-TV (Philadelphia) and WABC-TV (New York),
- New Jersey Network (NJN) with the <u>Philadelphia Inquirer</u> and the Gannett New Jersey newspaper chain, and
- William Paterson University.

Following presentations by the three debate sponsor applicants and an ensuing discussion by Commissioners and staff, the Commission, on a motion by Commissioner Saunders, seconded by Commissioner Burstein, and passed by a vote of 3-0, selected the League of Women Voters and New Jersey Network (NJN) to sponsor the two Gubernatorial Public Financing Program debates. The selected applicants will each sponsor one debate.

Public Session Minutes April 7, 2009 Page 2

A court reporter was available to record the proceedings.

3. Adjournment

On a motion by Commissioner Saunders, seconded by Commissioner Burstein and passed by a vote of 3-0, the Commission voted to adjourn at 12:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted as true and correct,

Frederick M. Herrmann, Ph.D. Executive Director

FMH/elz